Friday, June 10, 2016

Athletic Department Hosts Awards Ceremony

2015-16 Female Athlete of the Year
Shaleea Butler
On Tuesday, June 6, the EdCC Athletic department hosted its fourth annual awards ceremony to recognize the 2015-16 athletic achievements and team award winners. All student-athletes in attendance feasted on pizza and picked up the last "We are the Tritons" tee-shirt that sported the old mascot, as the newest EdCC logo and mascot will be unveiled by the end of the spring quarter. 

Some highlights include: 

  • Four teams qualified for the postseason, including softball for the first time in 10 years. 
  • 17 student-athletes were selected as NWAC All-Star status
  • 17 sophomore student-athletes earned NWAC Academic Excellence status
  • Ozzy Erkut was named NWAC North Men's Soccer Coach of the Year
  • Full list at
  • Jan Guenther (Coach) and the 1998 EdCC baseball team were inducted into the NWAC Hall of Fame (read story)
Team awards were:

Softball MVP
Hailey Malakowski

Softball Coach’s Award
Karley Quibilan

Men’s Basketball MVP
Zach Walton

Men’s Basketball Coach’s Award
Jerry Smallwood

Women’s Soccer MVP
Lexie Gray
Women’s Soccer Coach’s Award
Haylee Longsine

Men’s Soccer MVP
Sebastian Sulantay

Men’s Soccer Coach’s Award
Rell Sturdevant

Volleyball MVP
Delaney Watson

Volleyball Coach’s Award
Ali Carney

Women’s Basketball MVP
Asiyah Davis

Women’s Basketball Coach’s Award
Amanda Steffins

Baseball MVP
Shane Hanon 

Baseball Coach’s Award
Garrett Gallinger

Athlete of the Year
Jesse Moore

Athlete of the Year
Shaleea Butler